Good versus Evil

I have yet to read all the Harry Potter books (don’t hurt me!), but one thing is easily discerned from this series of books. One theme that runs throughout is “good versus evil”. I’ve been thinking a lot about this particular thing ever since I had a small reunion with a group of girlfriends about a week ago. A lot of memories from high school were brought up and even some from before then. I’ve known these girls for a long time – since elementary school and even one since preschool! We’ve all gone our separate ways for the most part, but when we get together, we talk like no time has passed and we still dig deep.

One particular situation was mentioned and it was in regards to an act that was done to one of our friends in high school. For me this particular action was, and still is, hurtful. For some, it is a memory that makes them laugh. And for others they realize that it was a rude thing to do but believe it was a long time ago and that it should be forgotten and that people change. 

I 100% agree that people can change. It is difficult and from what I have seen, often requires a life-changing event for that person to truly change within their soul. Some believe that the actions of people don’t always reflect the nature of the person – being good or bad. 

So from this “mini-reunion” conversation, I began my week-long “thought journey” about good versus evil. What makes a good person a good person? What makes a bad person a bad person? If a bad person can change into a good person were they ever really a bad person to begin with? Are bad acts simply mistakes that are made or do they reflect who you are as a person and the choices that you make?

For me, what I finally decided upon is that yes there are inherently bad and inherently good people. Some good people make bad choices and some bad people make good choices at times.  The deciding factor between  a person that is a bad and a person who is good,  is if a person repeatedly and consistently make choices that hurt other people and they choose not to ever feel regret or shame for those choices and never apologize when given the opportunity. That to me is a bad person. They might have great families, great siblings, great parents, great upbringings, but that does not mean that they are a good person.

 I like to think that I’m a good person. Maybe I’m wrong, and maybe in some people’s eyes I’m not a good person. But I always try to be honest, open, and tell the truth. I don’t skip around my feelings and I let others know my thoughts and opinions on things. Some people can take this as being harsh or rude, but that is not my intention at all. In my dealings with others, I try to be as nice and thoughtful as possible given the situation. If I make a mistake or hurt someone’s feelings I approach the situation and apologize or try to make amends in some way. This is not something that came easily to me, and still doesn’t. It has been something that I’ve had to learn over the years, from other people and from self-reflection. 

I really wanted to make this post an uplifting post. I thought to myself, “It seems like my posts have really gone to a dark place over the past few weeks.” Fortunately, there are good people in the world that make this post a little brighter. There are people that I witness daily who try to bring a little bit more sunshine and goodness into this world. I know that they are out there and they should be acknowledged! 

They are that pretty glow.

UPDATE: I haven’t even officially published this yet, and I’m already having more/second thoughts.  A friend I reached out to about a loss she suffered said something…”I feel like this was a terrible impulsive choice.” Choices. Choices, choices, choices. Bad or good choices? Bad or good person? I can’t fault people for making bad choices. We all do it. It is fine.  

Author: jkwells28

I'm a speech language pathologist that works with the pediatric population striving to help everyone discover the power of communication. In the meantime, I'm a mommy, a wifey, a daughter -y, and a sister -y. :) I hope to find that pretty glow in myself and others through writing and attempting feats I never thought I would try.

2 thoughts on “Good versus Evil”

  1. I wrote a whole post and then it got deleted before I sent! Grrrrr

    I’ll tell you the long version next time I see you, but obviously my faith plays a big part in my opinion of this and this verse is what relates to me most on the subject.

    I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16 And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[a] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.
    Romans 5

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

